Darkness Loves Monster

Darkness Loves Monster  02/14/2016

“I shall give you a name.”  Darkness said as he looked at his most adored.

“But I already have one.”

She looked at her beloved liege wondering why suddenly he wanted to give her a “name”.   When she already had a name that was barely used, surely there was intention behind such a command.

 

“The mortal women who dwell above have names.”

 

“And we live in the shadows not within the mortal realm my beloved.”

 

“A name can give one power.”  Darkness replied firmly.

 

“My name is Monster.  That is my name.  I have the powers of darkness and of the storms. Mortal women quake and run in my presence. ” She spoke with sudden fierceness not wanting to be bothered with such trivial things such as a new name.

 
“A monster is to be considered a thing of ugliness and to be feared.  But you are neither to me.  Your beauty shines brighter than stars themselves and I do not fear you.  Never will the Darkness fear what he loves the most.”

 

“The Darkness loves his Monster.”

“Always.” As Darkness looked at her his icy expression changing to a sign of rare warmth.

“I will give you what the Lord of Light could never give you.”

At the mentioning of the Light who had never loved Monster a pang struck to her very core. She left Monster to go be with the Light, she believed the King of Illusion had loved her.  Tricked her into thinking she belonged in the mortal world.  When in truth she never did and never will.  She had hurt Darkness so deeply when she had fled.  Yet Darkness took her back but never did he forget.

“And whats that my beloved?”

“A name. Because unlike the Light.  I love thee Eternally.”

And so Darkness called his monster by the name of love.

 

©2016 T.B. Morte  “From the Book of Monster” 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

