Snow becomes Red (The Snow In the Garden) ***New Fairy Tale Poem***

Omnibus in foro S.P.D.

 

This is a preview piece of my new WIP (tenatively titled “When Once Upon A Dream”)  It is going to be a fairy tale anthology of poetry, short stories, and nursery rhymes told from a “dark” perspective.

 

The selection below is my version of “Snow White & Rose Red”  originally written by the Brothers Grimm.

 

Enjoy,

Bone Mama Belle

 

 

The Snow in the Garden 08/10/2014

“What one has she must share with the other.”

 

It was a line our Mother often said.

 

She spoke it when we were children,

small and petite when we really

did love one another,

 

She reminded us when we grew older,

when we were no longer small but

sprouts that grew taller,

And our affection towards one another had

diminished some,

 

She demanded this of us,

when we became young women,

And our hearts were subject to the whims of men,

The love between two sisters faded into memory,

 

As the years have gone by,

seasons change,

as has my perspective,

 

I no longer love the person,

whose hand I held so dear,

 

I will break the vow,

I swore,

 

I promised to never leave you,

Never so long as we live,

My sweet sister,

Rose Red,

 

I leave you in the garden,

along with Mother,

Dead and buried,

both done by my own hand,

 

For I could not share with you,

The Kingdom,

The Crown,

Or The Glory,

 

There can only be one Queen,

Her name is Snow White,

And not Rose Red.

© T.BMorte 

 

From the Anthology Collection:  “When Once Upon A Dream” © T.B. Morte 2014

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

