An Ode to Poe

Omnibus in foro S.P.D.

As I found myself reading some Poe before bedtime last night.  I found myself traveling through my own poetic archives and found this goodie.  I wrote this about eight years ago but I have always loved it.  Edgar Allen Poe is one of my favorite authors of all time, and yes I had to give tribute.  I wrote this from the perspective of “Lenore” because I always wondered “what if’?  Please enjoy the following selection 🙂

Spooky Regards,

Bone Mamma Belle

Ode to Lenore’s Raven  07/10/2005

Once upon a midnight dreary, while he pondered weak and weary,

Over many quaint and curious volumes of forgotten lore,

Due to his unfaithfulness,

On my deathbed did I decide to settle
the score,

Through the seven hells it heard my prayer,

And what appeared was a
sight far scarier,

Feathers black as pitch and eyes like fire,

It knew immediately my
utmost desire,

“May he know no peace,

may he forever be left in torment,

let madness

become his insanity” I spoke,

Quote the Raven as it replied “Nevermore”,

The nightmare began shortly after my demise,

When my once beloved

was merely sleeping,

then came the infamous tapping,

The tapping of his chamber door,

it was the beginning of so much more,

This foul craven creature performed its duty,

with absolute morbid glory,

My former lover had paid the price dearly,

 left insane for all eternity,

It’s a pity my agreement wasn’t stated more clearly,

What goes around indeed comes around,

the price paid for a woman being scorned,

Now I’m left with this feathered terror,

in a plagued abyss with no ending,

left forever with the raven’s cawing,

Uttering a single word, forever tormenting,

Quote the Raven as it sayeth “Nevermore”.

© 2005  Tragedienne Belle Morte Based Upon: “The Raven” by Edgar Allen Poe 

From The Collection “Plasmatic BloodFall”

 

4 thoughts on “An Ode to Poe

Leave a Reply

